Six Basic Disciplines of Discipleship

Posted: August 5, 2013 in Devotionals & Bible Studies
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

SIX BASIC DISCIPLINES OF DISCIPLESHIP

2 Corinthians 5:17 – “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!”

Luke 9:23 – “If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me”.

Galatians 2:20“I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me”.

DISCIPLESHIPChristian discipleship is developing a personal, lifelong, loving and obedient relationship with Jesus Christ in which he transforms your character into Christlikeness, changes your values into Kingdom values and involves you in his mission in the home, the church, the community and the rest of the world.

THE DISCIPLE’S CROSS – PRINCIPLES FOR GROWTH AND DEVELOPMENT

SPEND TIME WITH THE LORD

John 15:5 – “I am the vine; you are the branches. If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.”

LIVE IN THE WORD

John 8:31-32 – “Jesus said, “If you hold to my teaching, you are really my disciples. Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”

PRAY IN FAITH

John 15:7 – “If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be given you.”

 

FELLOWSHIP WITH BELIEVERS

John 13:34-35 – “A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this all men will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.”

 

WITNESS TO THE WORLD

John 15:8 – “This is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples.”

MINISTER TO OTHERS

John 15:13 – “Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends.”

Comments
  1. Cheryl R says:

    If a man “remains in me” – words to live by. I Corinthians says that we CAN know the mind of Christ in this, the Church age. “Remains in me” – growing spiritually via the teaching of His Word by qualified, dedicated and well-trained pastor-teachers. Crave it, live for it, and God will supply the teaching we need!

Leave a Reply

